The winners have been decided

Zumtobel Group awards its fifth international architecture prize

In what is the fifth edition of the Zumtobel Group Award – Innovations for Sustainability and Humanity in the Built Environment, in 2017 the international expert jury awarded first prizes to innovative projects in the three categories, Buildings, Urban Developments & Initiatives and Applied Innovations. This year there is also a special award for Young Professionals.

Warka Water also creates a social place for the community, Copyright: Arturo Vittori / Architecture and Vision

Warka Water collects rain and harvests fog and dew, Copyright: Arturo Vittori / Architecture and Vision

Warka Water Main View Front, Copyright: Arturo Vittori / Architecture and Vision

The first prize in the APPLIED INNOVATIONS category presented by Tridonic is awarded to the Italian architect Arturo Vittori. With his Warka Water project on alternative water extraction in the Dorze / Omo Valley region of Ethiopia, he has created an innovative and ecological solution for the lack of access to clean and safe water resources in the rural areas of Africa, while at the same time facilitating a meeting place – the shady canopy of the Warka Water Tower provides space for meetings.

Made from local and biodegradable materials, the tower generates water in three ways inspired by natural phenomena: it stores rainwater, catches drops of fog and provides an area on which dew can form at night. The tower does not require electrical power. The water extracted is filtered by gravity and the average water yield of up to 100 litres per day is collected in a tank. Warka Water is designed to be owned and operated by the villagers. The triangulated frame structure is optimized for lightness and strength and offers both stability and robustness. It is also modular and foldable, making it easy to transport.

The Award, which is endowed with EUR 50,000 per category, honours the architect's innovative, passive-technical process based solely on natural phenomena such as gravity, condensation and evaporation.

In the category Buildings the Star Apartments by Michael Maltzan Architecture was awarded, Arnhem Central Station is this year's winner in the category Urban Developments & Initiatives. The Jianamani Visitor Center by Atelier TeamMinus was awarded the YOUNG PROFESSIONALS special prize.

The jury is made up of internationally recognised experts from the fields of architecture, design, society, art and technology and is reappointed for each award. The 2017 jury comprised Klaus Daniels, HL-Technik Engineering GmbH; Elke Delugan-Meissl, Delugan Meissl Associated Architects, Elizabeth Diller, Architect Diller Scofidio + Renfro, Elgar Fleisch, Professor of Information Management, Holger Hagge, Architect & Management Expert, Zhang Ke, Architect ZAO/standardarchitecture, Ulrich Schumacher, CEO Zumtobel Group and Kjetil Trædal Thorsen of Snøhetta Architects.

Further information:

Zumtobel Group Award: Winner projects
Press release
Arturo Vittori